Update: disclosure, reciprocity, friendship, goodbye...?

A common and understandable desire, can it work?
STR

Update: disclosure, reciprocity, friendship, goodbye...?

Post by STR »

I haven’t posted any updates on my LE situation in quite a while, in part because things have been going so well that I haven’t felt a need for emotional support from the forum, in part because it’s difficult to put everything that has been happening into words, and in part out of concern for posting information that would enable my LO to determine my identity (in the unlikely event that she were to visit this site). But I was asked to provide an update, so here goes.

As I may have explained in previous posts, I’ve been working for over 2 years now at reducing my limerence and trying to figure out whether it is possible (and if so, how) to be normal friends with my LO (whom I have known for 6 years). After a 6-month period of LC/NC in the second half of 2014, we have spent a lot (by our standards) of quality time together in 2015. It has felt to me as if we have grown increasingly close over that time, but I haven’t been sure whether LO felt the same way. One of the primary forces that has always fueled my limerence for her (and previous LOs) was uncertainty regarding the nature of our relationship and whether her feelings for me were strong and positive (as mine have been for her). We had one conversation that touched on these issues a little over a year ago, and while that answered some questions, it confused me in other ways that have bothered me ever since.